Abstract scatter field illustration in sky blue and pale ice on white — decorative header for SPT 18-Inch vs 24-Inch Portable Dishwasher Compared

SPT SD-9263SSA vs SD-6513WA: 18-Inch or 24-Inch Portable Dishwasher?

Same maker, same 36-inch height, same stated 52 dB and six programs. The decision is floor space against capacity: the 24-inch takes 33 percent more floor for 25 percent more place settings.

The two listings at a glance

Product photo of the SPT SD-9263SSA from its Amazon listing
SPT SD-9263SSA
18-inch portable, ENERGY STAR
Read our review · Check price on Amazon
Product photo of the SPT SD-6513WA from its Amazon listing
SPT SD-6513WA
24-inch portable, ENERGY STAR
Read our review · Check price on Amazon

Same maker, same height, same stated noise and program count: this is the simplest comparison on the site, and it reduces to a single question. How much floor do you have, and how many place settings do you need? The table prints the figures our review tables and Amazon’s detail pages agree on.

Figure SPT SD-9263SSA (18-inch) SPT SD-6513WA (24-inch)
Size (W × D × H) 18 × 24 × 36 in 24 × 24 × 36 in
Floor footprint 432 in² 576 in²
Exterior volume 254.9 L 339.8 L
Weight 51.7 kg (114 lb) 59.9 kg (132 lb)
Stated noise 52 dB 52 dB
Place settings 8 10
Programs (Amazon’s count) 6 6
Controls Full console Touch
Drying Not specified by the maker (review) Natural air drying (review)
Water and energy 2.07 gal per cycle (both sources); 237 kWh a year (review) ENERGY STAR; no water or kWh figure
Connection Faucet quick-connect, adapter included Faucet quick-connect, adapter and drain hose included
Price band $500+ $500+

A third more floor for a quarter more place settings

The 18-inch unit is 18 × 24 × 36 in and the 24-inch 24 × 24 × 36 in. Width times depth gives 432 and 576 square inches of floor, so the wider machine takes 33 percent more floor. It states 10 place settings against 8, 25 percent more capacity. Dividing the one by the other, the 18-inch needs 54 square inches of floor per place setting and the 24-inch 57.6, so the narrower unit is about 6 percent more compact for what it claims to hold. The effect is modest, and it runs the other way on weight: the 24-inch carries 6 kg per place setting and the 18-inch 6.5.

To-scale top-down outlines of the SPT 18-inch portable at 432 square inches and the 24-inch at 576, a third more floor
Both outlines at one scale. The extra six inches of width is the whole difference.
Paired bars comparing floor area, stated place settings, weight and floor area per place setting for the SPT 18-inch and 24-inch portable dishwashers
Each row is scaled to its larger value. The two bars in the last row are nearly the same length, which is the point: capacity grows about as fast as floor area does.

The volume arithmetic agrees: 31.9 litres of exterior per place setting for the 18-inch and 34 for the 24-inch. So the wider model is not a more generous use of space, only more of the same. If your limit is floor, the narrower unit loses little by being narrower. If your limit is capacity, the wider one is the only way to get it.

Noise cannot separate any two portables in this catalogue

Both units state 52 dB. So does every portable dishwasher in our catalogue that states noise at all: eight units, including these two, and eight identical figures. A class where every member quotes the same number has no spread for us to place either machine in, which is why this site has no portable class report, only this pair. Noise should not be what decides between these two. It also means that the decibel figure in a portable listing has told you nothing about one unit against another, and you should look at the other rows.

What the two listings say about water, drying and connection

The 18-inch listing states 2.07 gallons per cycle and our review quotes 237 kWh a year; neither figure appears for the 24-inch, so the two cannot be compared on water or energy. Both are ENERGY STAR. On drying, our review finds that the 18-inch maker does not specify a method and that the 24-inch relies on natural air drying, so neither offers a heated option in what we read.

Both connect to a kitchen faucet with an adapter rather than needing plumbing. The 18-inch listing adds a practical caution: the adapter fits a standard removable aerator opening, male 15/16 inch and female 55/64 inch, so check that your faucet has one before you order. Both listings call the machines portable. At 114 and 132 pounds they are machines you roll, not carry, and the listing text we read does not describe casters, so confirm that with the seller if moving it matters. Both are 36 inches tall, the usual counter height.

Where the two listings are not equally informative

The 18-inch listing is the more forthcoming: it states water use, an annual energy figure and a faucet-adapter specification. The 24-inch states none of these. That is an asymmetry in what was published, and it would be a mistake to read the missing figures as bad ones. There is also one disagreement between our sources. Amazon’s specification field gives the 18-inch a one-year limited manufacturer warranty, while our review says the warranty is not specified in the disclosures it read. We print one year in the table because the listing states it, and note that our review could not confirm it.

A household-size sanity check

A place setting is a plate, a bowl, a glass and cutlery. Two people eating three meals a day at home generate six of them in a day, so eight place settings covers a day of dishes for a household of two with some left over, and ten covers a household of three for a day. That is arithmetic, not a recommendation: whether you run it daily, rinse by hand first or load for pots as well changes the answer, and each listing’s count assumes a standard load of its own design. If you would run a portable dishwasher once a day, eight is enough for two people and ten gives a third person room.

Which suits which

The 18-inch SD-9263SSA suits you if

  • floor space is the limit. It needs 432 square inches, about 25 percent less than the 24-inch;
  • 8 place settings covers your households or you wash more than once a day;
  • you want the listing that states water use (2.07 gallons per cycle) and an annual energy figure;
  • a lighter machine matters: 114 pounds against 132.

The 24-inch SD-6513WA suits you if

  • you need the capacity. 10 place settings is 25 percent more, and no 18-inch unit can match it;
  • you have the floor and a run of cabinets it can sit beside;
  • you prefer touch controls to a full console;
  • a stainless-steel tub matters to you. The listing stresses that it has one, “unlike most other 24″ models”, but so does the 18-inch.

What this comparison cannot tell you

We did not test either machine. A place-setting count is the maker’s and assumes a standard load. We cannot say how either cleans or dries, how noisy it is in a real kitchen, or whether the quick-connect adapter suits your faucet. For each in full, see our SD-9263SSA review and our SD-6513WA review.

Figures are the manufacturers’, as published on each listing and quoted in our reviews; none was measured by us. How we work · Affiliate disclosure